Exhibition stuff.

12 May

The exhibitions all over now, and it went rather smoothly, although, with a few disappointments.

Day 1 – Tuesday 3rd May.

Today was painting day. All we did was paint.

By “we” I do mean myself, Luke, Rachel, Rich, Gary and sometimes Nick. The others who were there didn’t seem to do very much.

Anyway, we took out all the old dirty plinths that were hiding underneath the stage in the riverfront basement and set about painting them up to look all posh and new.

That took up all of our day really. Just making sure we had enough plinths and getting them painted took up a lot of time. We were intending to start moving stuff down in the afternoon, but we had to wait until the next day because all the electronics were being PAT tested due to the fact that CSM last year electrocuted some people a bit with their dodgy wiring.

Day 2 – Wednesday 4th May.

After Gary and Rich stopped making Star Wars jokes, and the PAT testing man was done, we started boxing everything up and moving things down to the riverfront. Didn’t take much time actually, about an hour or so. It was all pretty smooth.

And then we started to actually set up our stuff. That went really well too. For me especially. My mum had come down that morning and delivered me my own custom made stand and by the early afternoon, my game was up and running! All I had to do was wire things up and everything worked exactly as I expected it to which is always nice.

The lights worked and everything! I think they look pretty swish as one solid bar there. That all worked out rather well I think.

The hat looks good on its own stand and all the stuff I made looked great on the stands.

Day 3 – Thursday 5th May.

Today, not much happened. Everyone was pretty much setup apart from a few who didnt turn up on Wednesday (Martyn, Owain, Rachel, Marc).

So, those people set up whilst the rest of us just tidied things up and made sure everything was exactly how we wanted it.

Today, I brought with me all the “about” boards and all my delicate papery goods.

I just laid out all my free stuff and made sure we had things like signs up and everyone had all the stuff they needed.

Again, everything went really smoothly and things were just working, it was great.

Day 4 – Friday 6th May.

Show day!

Started off quite exciting with a group of students from some college all coming in at once and playing with our stuff, our work held up well. Then it got quiet, very quiet, for a long, long time.

It was never busy today, it just kinda came and went.

No one who we invited had turned up so we were disappointed with that, but, the photography student who I built a site for came and took photos for me as an exchange.

Look how fantastic they are!

Ben White, my photographer, did a really fantastic job with these photos. It really gets across the physical aspect of my game and really captures the whole exhibit space and how it was set up.

After this, the rest of the day was really quiet. Boo.

Day 5 – Saturday 7th May.

My feet hurt today.

It got busier today, but never hugely busy.

Once again, no one who we had invited apart from family and friends had turned up. Very disappointing really. Not good form at all.

But, we managed to impress a bunch of people that came through the doors with our work.

Mark Jackson and some woman who I dont know where very impressed with my game. As far as I could tell, they were organising some kind of exhibition to show off student work or something and they wanted my work there. So that’s nice. They liked the whole physical arm waving aspect and they were mystified by the fact that it read your mind to work.

Lot’s of people were really. People usually first asked me to explain my game and as soon as I started talking about how the game read your brainwaves to work, they just looked at me like it was hugely impossible and that I was simply making it up. Then they played my game, and were floored by the fact that it did in fact read your mind.

That’s pretty much the kind of reaction I was aiming for.

Adam had a chance to play my game and uttered the words “brilliant, amazing” a few times after he played it. I think he was impressed by it.

So, we ended our show on a high really. Sure, no one who we invited turned up, but those who did loved our work and the majority of it didn’t break! Fantastic!

Leave a Reply

